"I was walking in the forest for myself,
And nothing to seek, that was my purpose"

 

 

 

 

Photographs by Bruno Augsburger and wood sculptures by Stephan Wurmer

March 6 - July 27, 2020

  

 Bruno Augsburger and Stephan Wurmer deal with the theme of the forest in different genres. Both artists are united by their intense experience of nature as a source of inspiration. Their works testify to the magic and power of nature, the forest and the material wood in the specific. As the title of the exhibition, a quote from the first stanza of Goethe's poem "Found" suggests, both Bruno Augsburger and Stephan Wurmer carry the approach, of not searching, of finding. 

Bruno Augsburger's forest paintings were created during long stays in British Columbia and Yukon, where he hiked, fished or watched salmon. If he is looking for something, it is the simple and archaic moments that only exist outside. For Augsburger, nature is like a laboratory, a field of experience for life. From fishing alone, he has learned "that the most expensive fishing rod, the right bait, the perfect spot, the perfect time give no guarantee whether the fish will bite. This uncertainty fascinates me" says Augsburger "this is what I want to capture with my pictures, the indomitability". Swiss photographer Bruno Augsburger (1968) studied at the Zurich School of Art and Design. For 15 years he traveled in the vastness of Scandinavia and Canada. Today he lives in Zurich and the mountain village of Ardez in the Lower Engadine. Exhibitions at home and abroad.

Stephan Wurmer's approach is that of an archaeologist. In his constructive sculptures, he is inspired by the living properties of wood as a material. Wurmer exposes layer after layer, thereby creating a field of tension between free growth and guided design, so that the breath of nature remains palpable in his sculptures. The results are mostly outwardly compact forms such as cubes, cuboids, cylinders and cones that reveal an inner life rich in tension. Some of the wooden sculptures shown in the forest exhibition occupy a special position in the artist's oeuvre. Stephan Wurmer found their source material during his hikes through the Upper Austrian mountains. Stephan Wurmer (1956) studied sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg. His works are represented in public collections and in private and public collections, exhibitions at home and abroad.

  

FOUND  

Once through the forest

Alone I went;
To seek for nothing

My thoughts were bent.

I saw i' the shadow

A flower stand there
As stars it glisten'd,

As eyes 'twas fair.

I sought to pluck it,--

It gently said:
"Shall I be gather'd

Only to fade?"

With all its roots

I dug it with care,
And took it home

To my garden fair.

In silent corner

Soon it was set;
There grows it ever,

There blooms it yet.

 

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

×

"Ich ging im Walde so für mich hin,

und nichts zu suchen, das war mein Sinn"

 

Fotografien von Bruno Augsburger und Holzskulpturen von Stephan Wurmer  

6. März bis 27. Juli 2020

  

 Bruno Augsburger und Stephan Wurmer beschäftigen sich in unterschiedlichen Genres mit dem Thema Wald. Beide Künstler verbindet das intensive Erleben der Natur als Inspirationsquelle. Ihre Werke zeugen von der Magie und Kraft der Na­tur, des Waldes und des Material Holz im Spezifischen. Wie der Titel der Ausstel­lung, ein Zitat der ersten Strophe aus Goethes Gedicht „Gefunden“ andeutet, trägt sowohl Bruno Augsburger als auch Stephan Wurmer der Ansatz, des nicht Suchens, des Findens. 

 

Bruno Augsburger's Waldbilder sind während langer Aufenthalte in British Columbia und Yukon entstanden, wo er wanderte, fischte oder Lachse beobachtete. Wenn er etwas sucht, dann die einfachen und archaischen Momente, die es nur draussen gibt. Die Natur ist für Augsburger wie ein Laboratorium, ein Erfahrungsfeld für das Leben. Allein vom Fischen hat er gelernt, "dass die teuerste Angel, der richtige Köder, die perfekte Stelle, die perfekte Zeit keine Garantie geben, ob der Fisch anbeißt. Diese Ungewiss­heit fasziniert mich“ sagt Augsburger "das ist, was ich mit meinen Bildern einfangen möchte, die Un­zähmbarkeit". Der Schweizer Fotograf Bruno Augsburger (1968) hat an der Hochschule für Ge­staltung und Kunst in Zürich studiert. 15 Jahre lang war er in den Weiten Skandinaviens und Kanadas unterwegs. Heute lebt er in Zürich und dem Bergdorf Ardez im Unterengadin. Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland.

 

Stephan Wurmer’s Vorgehensweise ist die eines Archäologen. Er lässt sich in sei­nen konstruktiven Skulpturen von den lebendigen Eigenschaften des Material Holz anregen. Wurmer legt Schicht um Schicht frei und erzeugt dadurch ein Spannungs­feld vom freien Wachsen und gelenktem Gestalten, so dass in seinen Skulpturen der Atem der Natur spürbar bleibt. Das Ergebnis sind zumeist äußerlich kompakte Formen wie Würfel, Quader, Zylinder und Kegel, die ein spannungsreiches Innen­leben aufzeigen. Einige, der in der Waldausstellung gezeigten Holzskulpturen nehmen eine Sonderstellung im Gesamtwerk des Künstlers ein. Stephan Wurmer hat ihr Ausgangsmaterial bei seinen Wanderungen durch die oberösterrische Bergwelt gefunden. Stephan Wurmer (1956) studierte Bildhauerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. Seine Arbeiten sind in öffentlichen Sammlungen und in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen vertreten, Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland.

  

GEFUNDEN

Ich ging im Walde

So für mich hin,

Und nichts zu suchen,

Das war mein Sinn.

 

Im Schatten sah ich

Ein Blümchen stehn,

Wie Sterne leuchtend,

Wie Äuglein schön.

 

Ich wollt es brechen,

Das sagt es fein:

Soll ich zum Welken

Gebrochen sein?

 

Ich grub‘s mit allen

Den Würzlein aus,

Zum Garten trug ich‘s

Am hübschen Haus.

 

Und pflanzt es wieder

Am stillen Ort;

Nun zweigt es immer

Und blüht so fort.

                                                                                                                              Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

 

 

Unsere Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Freitag 13 bis 18 Uhr, Samstag 13 bis 16 Uhr und nach Vereinbarung

GALERIE FENNA WEHLAU, Amalienstraße 24, 80333 München-Germany

info(at)galerie-wehlau.de oder Tel. 0049 - 172 - 4025773